Official 2021-2022 Georgia Deer Season Dates

** This is dated information! For updated information, check out one of the links below**

2022-2023 Georgia Deer Season Dates

2022 Georgia Turkey Season Dates

The Georgia DNR Wildlife Resources Division recently released their proposed changes for the 2021-2022 hunting seasons. While there were some significant changes coming for next turkey season, very little changed for Georgia deer hunters. In fact, there were no changes to deer season dates (other than what is noted below) and bag limits other than the normal shift in dates so that all season openers fall on their respective Saturdays.

More Extended Archery Counties

The only proposed regulation changes for the 2021-2022 season is adding 10 counties to the extended archery season, which will allow bowhunters to continue hunting in those counties until January 31. Those additional counties include Barrow, Cherokee, Columbia, Decatur, Douglas, Fayette, Hall, Muscogee, Paulding, and Seminole.

Consistent Antler Restrictions

Another change coming for 2021 seeks to make antler restrictions the same across all WMAs and counties (with the exception of Dooly and Macon). Where antler restrictions apply, the new regulation will make it a consistent “4 points, 1 inch or longer, on one side OR a minimum of 15 inches outside spread.”

Always remember to consult with the latest official Georgia Hunting Regulations before heading afield. Those can be found at Georgia’s Wildlife Resources Division homepage.

Official Georgia Deer Season Dates

Archery, Either Sex
September 11, 2021 - January 9, 2022
Extended Archery,
Either Sex (only for Barrow, Bibb, Chatham, Cherokee, Clark, Clayton, Cobb, Columbia, Decatur, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Hall, Henry, Muscogee, Paulding, Rockdale and Seminole)
September 11, 2021 - January 31, 2022
Primitive WeaponsOctober 9, 2021 - January 9, 2022
Firearms*October 16, 2021 - January 9, 2022

Twelve (12) per season, Statewide. No more than ten (10) may be antlerless and no more than two (2) may be antlered. One of the antlered deer must have at least 4 points, one inch or longer, on one side of the antlers OR a minimum of 15 inches outside antler spread.

Firearms deer hunting is not allowed in Clayton, Cobb, DeKalb, Fulton (north of GA Hwy. 92), and the portion of Glynn County lying within Jekyll Island. In the portion of Forsyth County south of Ga Hwy. 20, only archery, shotguns, and muzzleloaders may be used (no other firearms allowed).

Georgia 2021-2022 Either Sex Deer Season Dates

October 16, 2020 – January 9, 2022

Baker, Ben Hill, Bibb, Bleckley, Brooks, Burke, Calhoun, Candler, Chatham, Chattahoochee, Clarke, Clay, Colquitt, Columbia, Crisp, Decatur, Dodge, Dooly, Douglas, Dougherty, Early, Emanuel, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton (South of Hwy. 92), Glascock, Grady, Gwinnett, Hancock, Harris, Henry, Houston, Irwin, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Laurens, Lee, Macon, Marion, Meriwether, Miller, Mitchell, Montgomery, Muscogee, Peach, Pulaski, Quitman, Randolph, Richmond, Rockdale, Schley, Seminole, Stewart, Sumter, Talbot, Taylor, Telfair, Terrell, Thomas, Tift, Treutlen, Troup, Turner, Twiggs, Washington, Webster, Wheeler, Wilcox, Wilkinson, and Worth. (In that portion of Forsyth lying south of GA Hwy 20, only shotguns and muzzleloaders may be used)

Oct. 18, 2021 – Jan. 9, 2022

Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Berrien, Brantley, Bryan, Bulloch, Camden, Charlton, Clinch, Coffee, Cook, Echols, Effingham, Evans, Glynn (except that portion lying within Jekyll Island), Jeff Davis, Lanier, Liberty, Long, Lowndes, McIntosh, Pierce, Screven, Tattnall, Toombs, Ware, and Wayne.

Oct. 30, 2021 – Jan. 9, 2022

Baldwin, Banks, Barrow, Bartow, Butts, Catoosa, Carroll, Chattooga, Cherokee, Coweta, Crawford, Dade, Elbert, Floyd, Franklin, Gordon, Green, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Hall, Haralson, Hart, Heard, Lamar, Lincoln, Madison, McDuffie, Monroe, Morgan, Newton, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Paulding, Pike, Polk, Putnam, Spalding, Taliaferro, Upson, Walker, Walton, Warren, and Wilkes.

Nov. 22 – 28, 2021 and Jan. 1, 2022

Dawson, Gilmer, Habersham, Lumpkin, Murray, Pickens, Stephens, White, and Whitfield.

Nov. 27 – 28, 2021 and Jan. 1, 2022

Fannin, Rabun, Towns, and Union.


Listen to Our Podcast on This Topic

1 thought on “Official 2021-2022 Georgia Deer Season Dates”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.